Longwood GAA

Founded 1904

Co. Meath

Last ditch penalty denies Longwood the spoils

Download our mobile app to hear more about Longwood GAA.

See More

The concluding round of the league saw Longwood lose out in cruel fashion, with Clann Na nGael scoring a goal from the penalty spot deep into injury time. Indeed, it proved to be the final kick of an eventful and entertaining game.

Goals win games and, despite being outplayed for much of the contest, Clann Na nGael were somehow able to conjure up four over the hour.

Longwood will rue a number of missed opportunities, particularly in the second half when they were totally dominant. But to score 1-17 and create at least another dozen opportunities is indicative of how the team have improved through the latter rounds of the league.

Ryan Moore and Sean Coloe were the scorers in chief, ably supported by the Hogan brothers, Billy and Harry. Young players Ciaran Sheridan, Adam O’Brien and Scout Hanna were prominent throughout, playing some excellent football and following the lead of the experienced warrior that is Joe Stenson. A special mention for Gavin Griffith who worked tirelessly throughout the contest, popping up in every sector of the field and handling any amount of ball.

But the industry and effort of the entire team will have given the management team enormous encouragement. An appetite for hard work is an essential component for any team and Longwood displayed it in abundance.

While the league has been disappointing in terms of results, lots of players have been given the opportunity to play A League football. The panel is much deeper and competition for places is much stronger than has been the case for a number of years. With the first round of the championship little more than six weeks away, there is time to improve fitness levels, work on things on the training ground and, most importantly, get all our players back in action for their club. We look forward to July………………..

Longwood: Seán O’Shea, Johnny Furey, Scout Hanna, Ross Kerrigan, Ciaran Sheridan, Joe Stenson, Cathal Campbell, Adam O’Brien, Bob Maguire, Gavin Griffith, Ryan Moore (1-7), Billy Hogan (0-3), Niall Mulvey, Tadhg Connolly, Sean Coloe (0-5). Subs: Harry Hogan (0-2), David McQuaid, James Sweeney, Sam Dixon, Dean Keogh, Liam Moroney

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play